How to enhance meditation

Chloé Garnham
4 min readAug 8, 2023

And what I’ve found that works even better.

Brooke Cagle on Unsplash.

Don’t get me wrong. I love meditation. It provides a chance to observe the busy mind, see the thoughts, feelings, and emotions for what they are, and gradually gain distance from them.

Meditation has helped me to become calmer, more focused, and more peaceful.

It also has a range of powerful positive brain benefits. A study found that just eight weeks of mindfulness-based stress reduction decreased brain cell volume in the amygdala — that’s the part responsible for fear, anxiety, and stress. It also increased learning, memory, and emotion regulation.

I meditate every day using the Calm app and I find it an enormously beneficial tool. I also enjoy Eckhart Tolle’s meditations on Youtube.

Meditation though, is by no means the complete answer. And that’s my fundamental issue with it.

Without another practice, its benefits are largely stunted.

The limitation of meditation

In meditation, we often reach deep states of relaxation. We’re able to reframe things. See issues for what they are. Remove ourselves from our heavy thought patterns. And perhaps even reconnect with our deeper selves.

--

--

Chloé Garnham

Personal development, philosophy, books, & mindfulness. An imperfect person on a journey to a more peaceful life. wisewordsbychloe.substack.com/