You Have The Amazing Power To Rewire Your Brain

Neuroscience shows how simple it can be.

Chloé Garnham
4 min readJul 20, 2022

Post-pandemic my brain has changed.

Andy Holmes on Unsplash.

My brain has refocussed itself on negativity –– anticipating challenges, and worrying about worst-case scenarios in a way that it never did before.

What I’ve learned though, is that this is perfectly natural, particularly given the climate we’ve been living in. Our brains have what neuroscientists call a ‘negativity bias’ –– something which served us well throughout evolution.

In the modern world, this negativity bias can cause a lot of unnecessary stress and anxiety.

It’s anxiety and stress I’ve decided I no longer need.

There’s a chatty voice in our heads

If I’m to believe the likes of Eckhart Tolle or Michael A. Singer, then I know that this chatty (and at times frustrating) voice in my head isn’t me. But knowing this doesn’t immediately lead to enlightenment.

The inner voice is loud, constant, and it’s been with us for our whole life.

Thanks to neuroplasticity, I know that I have the incredible power to rewire my brain toward the positive. This won’t remove the voice but it’ll help it to be:

--

--

Chloé Garnham

Personal development, philosophy, books, & mindfulness. An imperfect person on a journey to a more peaceful life. wisewordsbychloe.substack.com/